Elaine Wilder PhD, PT, C/NDT

2010 Elizabeth Noble Award Recipient

Dr. Elaine Wilder is a Professor, Department of Physical Therapy Education, Western University of Health Science – Oregon, and an Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training, Saint Louis University. She has been a physical therapist for the past 50 years, and during that time has contributed substantially to the physical therapy profession in the areas of women’s health and pediatric care.

Dr. Wilder received her B.S. in Physical Therapy and her Master of Arts in College Teaching in Physical Therapy and Maternal and Child Health from The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC. Later she received her PhD in Educational Leadership and Higher Education from Saint Louis University. Her doctoral dissertation, considered ground-breaking, explored the relationship between school pressure and disordered eating in students completing the final two years of physical therapy curricula.

Dr. Wilder has served as a hands-on educator and mentor for the past 36 years for students at the Bachelor’s, Post-
Baccalaureate, Certificate, Masters, and Doctoral levels. In addition to mentoring students, she has shared her didactic and clinical knowledge and expertise with thousands of clinicians and educators through her mentorship and service within the American Physical Therapy Association and beyond. She is a charter member of the Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy (formerly The Section on OB-GYN and The Section on Women’s Health) and proudly, served as Nominating and Education Chairs prior to 7 years as President. In 2006, as SOWH President and member of an incredible team, she proudly brought the motion for Board Certification in Women’s Health to the APTA House of Delegates. She is the Editor of The Gynecological Manual (1st and 2nd Editions), SOWH, and Obstetric and Gynecologic Physical Therapy, Churchill Livingstone, and served as an Associate Editor for the JWHPT. Her numerous presentations for the APTA (Annual, CSM, Student Conclave, State and Local) have focused on the Childbearing Year. In addition to the Elizabeth Noble Award, she is recipient of the Missouri Chapter, APTA, Service to the Profession Award and the APTA Lucy Blair Service Award.