Presented by the Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy

Recognizing industry professionals for their contributions, volunteerism and impact.

Annual Awards

Every year, the Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy highlights and recognizes Academy members and industry partners at the APTA Pelvic Health General Business Meeting, an annual event that occurs toward the end of the APTA Combined Sections Meeting. Members are invited to nominate fellow Academy members to recognize their brilliance in research, education, practice, volunteerism, leadership and dedication to the physical therapy profession in our industry. Ever since 1977, our members continue to advance our profession, research, practice guidelines and patient care to new levels.

Elizabeth Noble Award

Elizabeth Noble was the founder of the Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy, (then the Section on Obstetrics and Gynecology, Section on Women’s Health) and served as its first Chairman. She was a driving force behind the development of the field of obstetric and gynecological physical therapy in the United States. She was the author of multiple books for both the lay public and the professional. To learn more about Elizabeth Noble, click here. The Elizabeth Noble Award is the Academy’s highest honor, and is given to a member in good standing, providing extraordinary and exemplary service to the field of physical therapy for women, or to the Academy. The award may be, but is not necessarily, presented on an annual basis. (Members and candidate sumit applications, awardee is selected by the Board of Directors).

Application Deadline: 11:59pm EST, Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Volunteer of the Year Award

The Academy has 200+ volunteers who work arduously to drive the association’s mission forward. This award is given to an Academy member that has gone above and beyond in their volunteer service during the year. This member has spent a great deal of time and energy in a specific project or year-round volunteer service this year (Nominated and selected by the Board of Directors).

Friend of the Academy

Anyone or any company that went above and beyond to help APTA Pelvic Health in the past year. It could be helping with a project, going above and beyond for a Board Member to achieve their goals or someone who is always there to assist the Section when needed. (Selected by the Board of Directors)

Education Excellence Award

This award is given annually to a recipient who has embodied the vision and mission of the Academy and who has given tirelessly of his or her time and energy to advance high-quality education related to pelvic and abdominal health physical therapy. The recipient demonstrates the values of service, leadership, excellence, and loyalty. Without such volunteer leadership and commitment, we would not be able to achieve what we do (Nominated by Education Volunteers and Selected by the Director of Education).

Emerging Leader Award

This award honor one physical therapist or physical therapist assistant “emerging leader” from each APTA chapter or section, who has demonstrated extraordinary service early in his or her physical therapy career. The individual should have made exceptional overall accomplishments and contributions to the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), the component, and the physical therapy profession to advance APTA’s vision.

Outgoing Elected Members

At the end of an elected member’s term (Board of Directors and/or Nominating Committee), the Academy recognizes and reflects on their commendable service to the association. These members have taken initiative to step up and spearhead the Academy’s mission, vision and strategic plan for 1-3 years. Each outgoing member is called upon at the General Business Meeting to receive an award commemorating their volunteer service.

Elaine Meadows Research Scholarship

This award is designed to defray the costs of travel to attend the APTA Combined Sections Meeting (CSM), disseminate research findings and foster national networking of research colleagues. It is awarded to an Academy member that must be a presenter of an abstract accepted by the Academy for poster/platform presentation at CSM and that must be the lead presenting author. The candidate is selected based on justification of need for a travel scholarship, the submitted abstract, relevance of their research to women’s health physical therapy and the completed application (see application requirements). The winner is selected and announced by the Director of Research 30 days prior to CSM. The award may be, but is not necessarily, presented on an annual basis.

Application Deadline: November 15, 2020

CSM Student Scholarship

This scholarship award is given to a selected student physical therapist with an interest in the pelvic health physical therapy. The scholarship covers the full CSM conference registration. Stay tuned for application instructions (Recipient is selected by the Director of Programming and the CSM Programming Assistant)


Application Deadline: To Be Announced

Research Grant Award

The Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy awards the Research Grant to encourage the scientific study of topics consistent with the mission of the association. The Research Grant Review Committee selects the research proposal each year and either grants $10,000 or two (2) $5,000 Research Grant awards.

Application Deadline: To Be Announced